A guide highlighting library resources and services available for University of La Verne alumni.
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014
Welcome to the Resources for Alumni guide.
Alumni of the University of La Verne receive a variety of free services from the Wilson Library. These include access to selected databases, a RefWorks account, book check out, use of the 24/7 Ask A Librarian service, and wireless internet access or use of the computers at the Wilson Library.
If you are an alumni and wish to take advantage of your library privileges, the first step is to request email & library benefits through the Office of Alumni Relations.
A variety of article databases are available through the Wilson Library for your use as an alumni of the University of La Verne. In order to access the following databases, you need to register with the Alumni Office.
- Academic Search Alumni Edition
is designed for the research needs of the post-college professional. The database provides full text for more than 3,350 journals as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 8,200 journals. Academic Search Alumni Edition also includes valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources.
- Business Source Alumni Edition
is designed for the research needs of the post-college professional. The database provides 1,540 full text business magazines and journals, of which 780 are peer-reviewed. This database includes publications in nearly every area of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics and more.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is academe's No. 1 source for news, information, and jobs. This web site offers the complete contents of the latest issue as well as articles published since September 1989.
- Psychology Journals (ProQuest)
This database provides information from over 400 psychology and related publications. (At this time, this is the only database from ProQuest available for Alumni.)
- Project Muse
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content. Complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
- SAGE Journals
Provides access to SAGE journal titles in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences, with backfiles to 1999.
- SAGE Knowledge
A collection of SAGE reference books available electronically. Search by Keyword, Title, browse through the indexes. Covering: sociology, law, education, healthcare, counseling and more.
- Sage Research Methods
This tool is designed to help you create research projects and understand the methodology. Includes over 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series, 2 major works collating a selection of journal articles, and newly commissioned videos.
Start Here to Search for Books or E-books Available to You.
Type in a keyword, title, or author. Sample searches include: global warming, "Soloist", or Marx, Karl.
When searching for books you do not need to use punctuation. When searching for titles you do not need to include "the", "a" or "an at the beginning of a title.