This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Accounting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accounting   Tags: accounting, business, citations, subject_guide  

Last Updated: Dec 10, 2012 URL: http://ulvlibrary.libguides.com/accounting Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for e-books

Did you know that there are thousands of books available to you as e-books? Search for them now!

ebrary
 
 

Getting Started

1. Go to the ULV website and use the "Resources/Services" pull down menu to select "libraries"

http://library.laverne.edu

2. For Books: Click on "Books". Use key words to search.  E.g. "Accounting" or "Certified Public Accountant." You may use the pull down menu next to the search box to limit your search to all books or just electronic books

3. For Articles: Click on "Articles". Select "Most Used" databases and click on "Proquest" or "EBSCO". Use key words in the search boxes, e.g. "Accounting" and "Audit"  or "Accounting" and "Balance Sheet". You may wish to initially search for all items (scholarly as well as abstracts and news items). You may elect to restrict your search to "scholarly and peer reviewed" articles by clicking the two boxes below the search boxes before you click search. Be certain to search more than one database--the contents are generally unique to each database!  I recommend beginning with Research Library (Proquest), then Business Source Premiere (EBSCO), followed by Academic Search Premiere (EBSCO), at a minimum.  You may locate specific databases from the full listing of databases locatead under the "articles" tab. In the field of Accounting, Lexis-Nexus is an excellent source for both articles and legislation.

4. For Newpaper articles: Click on one of the Newpaper databases under the Newspaper section of the webpage such as "National Newspapers (Proquest)" and perform a key word search

5. For Company or Industry information: From the library home page click on the "Hoovers" database under the "H's" on the list of databases A-Z. Use the tabs to search either by industry or by company name. Note: the database contains primarily publicly traded companies, not privately owned companies.

http://library.laverne.edu

 http://library.laverne.edu/databases

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Linda Gordon
Chat with a Librarian 24 hours/7 days a week.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip