Start your research with scholarly dictionaries and encyclopedias. Most of these online sources will also provide you with citation information of entries.
Last Updated: Jun 11, 2013
Start Here to Search for Dictionaries and Encyclopedias Available to You.
Type in a keyword, title, or author, and select "Dictionaries and Encyclopedias" from the drop down menu.
Advanced Search (library catalog)
- Oxford English Dictionary
Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past; traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
- Oxford Premium Reference Collection
Over 170 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press This database contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
An online collection of dictionaries, handbooks, encyclopedias, etc.
- SAGE Knowledge
A collection of SAGE reference books available electronically. Search by Keyword, Title, browse through the indexes. Covering: sociology, law, education, healthcare, counseling and more.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year and an Internet directory with links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
- Global Road Warrior
Contains cultural, business and travel data, as well as maps and photos of 175 different countries.